View Single Post
Old 04-19-2016, 11:06 PM
midnightrider's Avatar
midnightrider midnightrider is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Harrow
Posts: 2,090
Default New Compilation album

With material selected by frontman Biff Byford, Demon Music Group is releasing "Greatest Saxon", a SAXON compilation featuring some of the most relevant music recently created by the legendary British metal band.
Yes, "Greatest Saxon" is just another 'Best Of' from Saxon, and if you're scratching your head asking yourself if it was necessary another one, the answer is yes.
Unlike the various Saxon 'Best Of' already available, "Greatest Saxon" spawns songs from the last period Saxon since the band ended their contract with EMI records.
"Greatest Saxon" includes songs starting from 1990's 'Solid Ball Of Rock' to 'Into the Labyrinth' (2009).
Byford has chosen 1 track from each studio album since - except 2001's Killing Ground and 2007's The Inner Sanctum, both with 2 selections. I don't get why '97s Unleash The Beast is represented with the track 'Gothic Dreams' (as it's an instrumental), but apart from this, I think there's an appropriate song selection.
So the answer is definitely yes: there was necessary a "Greatest Saxon", faithfully representing the last 25 years (more or less) of Saxon's studio recordings.
It works great for the initiated, and as well for first time fans who in one way or another have lost trace of what Saxon has been doing since the late '80s.
01 - Solid Ball Of Rock
02 - Requiem (We Will Remember)
03 - Forever Free
04 - Dogs Of War
05 - Gothic Dreams
06 - Conquistador
07 - Dragons Lair
08 - Court Of The Crimson King
09 - Witchfinder General
10 - I've Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)
11 - If I Was You
12 - Batallions Of Steel
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 13006657_10154766530072892_9131601327036429664_n.jpg (18.6 KB, 12 views)
If It's Too Loud Your Too Old!
Reply With Quote